The First Girls Only Playdate

The summer is coming to an end and I, like many other moms with to-do lists, am trying to cross off most of the items in them before school starts for my son and we sink into the fall routine.

I had promised my older daughter that we would do a playdate at the pool with one of the little friends she knows since she was a baby. After talking with the mom of said friend, we decided that I would come pick up her little one and have a “girls-only” day at the pool.

I know both her mom and I were a little nervous about this event. Not because we don’t trust each other but, you know, there is a huge level of trust placed on the mom who takes the kids away for the activity. I wanted the girls to have the funnest of times but I also wanted to be in control. After all, I didn’t know how well our little guest swam.

I decided that in order for me to focus my total attention on my five-year-old and her friend, I would leave the baby at the daycare offered at the pool site and my son at my friend’s house playing with her younger kids.

Both girls were thrilled to be away from their little siblings. They could not stop smiling. The morning went by quickly between playing in the water, building sand castles and having lunch together. It was a very enjoyable time -even for the mom in charge.

I guess there’s a first for everything. I’m just glad that the first time that I took a little friend on a playdate without her parents, happened with the daughter of a close friend. Knowing her for many years, definitely played to my advantage.

Now I’m crossing my fingers so that the next time that my kindergartener invites a little friend to play, everything goes as smoothly as this time at the pool.

Leave a Reply

