ForeignMom's Blog

Bicultural mom adjusting to motherhood in a foreign country

Away but Close September 7, 2013

I believe that there are people in the world who are meant to be an intrinsic part of our lives and we know this almost the same instant that we meet them. One of such people in my life is my friend living in Boston. Her an I have lots of things in common, yet we are so dramatically different that we just had the perfect chemistry to be friends from the first day we met.

She is one of the closest people in my life and knows just about everything that has gone on with me for the last twelve years. We are connected in a very strong way and our friendship is one of those perfectly balanced ones with just the right amount of reciprocity. She is such an important force in my life that you would have thought that we grew up together.

The strange thing is that we have only lived in the same place during the first year we met. After that, we went to different colleges in different countries and have seen each other physically only in few occasions. Still, her presence in my life is one the strongest and I’m sure it will continue to be that way.

This year she has made me a very close part of her pregnancy and I loved every single bit of it. I don’t know why, but her sharing every exciting, sad and stressful moment from the beginning has made me feel as if we met weekly for a cup of coffee for the last nine months. All of our interactions happen through the phone and social media but our friendship keeps evolving. I’m so happy to be able to “be there” for her and to realize that when friendship is real, the distance and years between two people don’t get in the way.

In the end, is not only about who you have around you but who you have close to your heart.

Thank you “I” for every tear, laugh, excursion, recipe, photo, recommendation, conversation, book, mailed package, text, support, and advice that you continue to give me but more importantly, thank you for letting me give them to you too.

 

Leave a Reply

