The Music of Languages

This week my husband and I joined a group of friends at a Pink Martini concert. If you don’t know who am I talking about, you should add them to your Pandora and have a relaxing, up-beat time next time you are making dinner. I really enjoy their music, but what I like the most is the fact that they sing in many different languages.

At Monday’s concert we heard them sing in English, Spanish, Portuguese, Japanese, Italian and Croatian (how cool is that?)! And something that gets me pretty excited is to be able to follow their songs in my mind as the switches of the different languages I know turn on and off in my brain following the tempo of the music.

This little dance of words that happened inside me transported me to an afternoon this spring when we were hanging out with some friends in France. They were the couple with children of whom I talked about in my previous post. Both are French but they also speak German, Spanish and English fluently. For us it was most natural to speak to them in English through the day but then they took us to the house of one of their relatives where the mom of one of them along with her cousin and the husband of the cousin welcomed us for a little drink.

As we came in we were greeted in Spanish but with kisses in both cheeks (in the European fashion). I soon discovered that our hosts had been to Mexico and we talked a little bit about my country mixing French and Spanish in the sentences like audacious DJ’s; but then, as to include my friend’s mother into the conversation, we switched to Franglais (a mix of French and English). The seven of us ended up playing the musical notes of an international composition in which language barriers didn’t matter. Somehow, we all understood each other and enjoyed a little time of laughter crossing the borders of space and grammar.

It is joyful moments such as this that lead me to place so much energy and effort into making sure my children are citizens of the world -able to have the music of many languages and cultures intertwined in their little heads.

One thought on “The Music of Languages

Leave a Reply

