ForeignMom's Blog

Bicultural mom adjusting to motherhood in a foreign country

Sleep-Less Nights Before THE TRIP August 7, 2012

Filed under: international travel,Travel — ForeignMom @ 3:59 am

Remember the feeling you had right before meeting the parents of your spouse? The nervousness, the anxiety, the hole in the stomach that made you change your outfit 2-3 times just to make sure you would leave a good first impression. Then arriving to the meeting place, not knowing how to great them (hand shake or hug?), or whether to lead the conversation or wait for the torrent of questions from their part. Ugh! So many things to think about, all while being interviewed to fill the open position of “daughter-in-law.”

Well, for me, is as if I had taken the position of “wife” skipping the interviewing process and now I was being brought for an audit to see if I can be a “daughter-in-law”. My husband and I have been married for five and a half years now and in a relationship for close to seven years but I have never met my mother-in-law (my husband’s dad passed away many years ago) or any of his immediate family.

To add to my stress, I have to get my family on three different planes and travel almost for a whole day with my two toddlers to go meet my husband’s family. Forget the outfit, how can someone leave a good first impression after having traveled half-way across the globe with tiny people sleeping on her lap? Luckily for me, I am already married to the guy!

There are so many things that keep me awake these days, but nothing more than the language barrier. I have never been in a country where I didn’t understand the language but I have, for sure, been at dinner parties and other gatherings where that has happened and let me tell you that it is not my thing to be an spectator and not a player. What are we going to do when we are seating across from each other aside from staring at our eyes and smile nervously? Yikes! I guess I will have no other weapon but to charm them through their mouths and stomachs.

Like my grandma always says: “Las penas con pan son menos” (your sorrows lessen if you have bread). So I will win them with my food! At the end of the trip we may not know much about what is in our heads, but we will know that we care for each other because we will show it with our food. Brilliant!

I know the trip to Lebanon will be a life-changing experience… maybe the anticipation and excitement are what doesn’t let me sleep.

 

Leave a Reply

