Tasting Like Is Ought to Taste

People often ask me what is it that I miss the most from Mexico and I always answer: food!

It isn’t that I don’t miss my family and friends, no, I love them and I feel a gap in my heart when they are not by me BUT thankfully, I can call them, Skype them or check Facebook and feel very close to them.

In the case of food is different. I’m yet to go to a “Mexican” restaurant outside of my country that has the aromas and tastes that are found here in the craddle of the tastiest and most diverse cuisines in the world (if you don’t believe me, do a Google search to feed your curiosity). It is almost impossible to satisfy a craving for authentic Mexican food where I live in the States because the vast majority of restaurants serve an Americanized version of it or the ingredients are simply different.

Since I always complain about the fact that I cannot get my type of comfort food, my friends from the US requested that I showed them what I’m talking about. I thought it would be good to start with produce for example.

My place of residence is located in the northern part of the US where having four seasons limits the availability of fresh produce year-round so the supermarkets sell produce from other American states or from foreign countries. As you know the freshness goes away, but what you may not be aware of -especially if you grew up there- is that the flavor also changes and in some cases goes away.

I’m always shock to see people eating bananas that are still green or too hard and still seem to enjoy them; some others buy melons that taste like water and smell-less tomatoes and eat them gladly. I don’t want to seem like a food snob buy believe me, I have been spoiled with fresh produce from outdoor markets for the first 19 years of my life and it is hard not to compare.

20120328-235934.jpg

20120329-000059.jpg

20120329-000125.jpg

Leave a Reply

