ForeignMom's Blog

Bicultural mom adjusting to motherhood in a foreign country

TV and Guilt July 13, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — ForeignMom @ 4:43 pm

I don’t know how many more things I can blame on the pregnancy but I guess I can still add fatigue into the equation. The thing is that between the pregnancy and the heat I have been feeling exhausted lately. So much that I’ve been letting my 16-month-old watch much more TV than ever before. I know I should just chill about it but I feel like the worse parent in the world.

It is not only the fact that both doctors and teachers recommend against children under two watching any TV but also that even thought, I have been letting my toddler watch some TV on a daily basis, I’m now relying completely on it to entertain her. I feel like the laziest person in the world but at the same time, I have no interest in going to the park or even outside for a walk with her.

I hope these few weeks of extra TV indulgence don’t create a life-long habit of constant TV watching and having the need of being entertained every waking hour. But I also hope to feel more energetic soon so the guilt doesn’t continue to lurk around me. In the mean time, wish me luck not to go crazy by watching the same shows over and over again.

 

Leave a Reply

