ForeignMom's Blog

Bicultural mom adjusting to motherhood in a foreign country

The Adjustment Bureau May 25, 2011

Filed under: Motherhood — ForeignMom @ 1:46 pm
Tags: , ,

My husband and I went on a much deserved date last week ending up at the movie theater, per usual. We chose a movie staring Matt Damon called The Adjustment Bureau and I thought it was worth sharing it with you. Without giving too much of the storyline away, this film presents the theory of the universe (or someone greater than us) having a preset plan for every single one of us and what happens when we defy it.

The main character meets someone who changes his life for ever and invariably falls in love with her but that wasn’t part of his greater plan so “The Adjustment Bureau” is there to make sure that these two individuals never see each other again. The problem is that when both of the characters fall madly in love with each other, it seems that there is nothing (not even the sea of people who live in NYC) that can keep them apart.

Sounds like the typical love story, right? Well, it is, but it isn’t. The kicker here is that for some odd reason, the main character learns that if he ends up with the woman of his dreams, he will never be the successful politician he always wanted to be and she would never be able to fulfill her dreams. Would this make them sad? Would their career goals matter that much over their love? What is more important, being loved or being successful?

This specific idea of the film got me thinking. I guess, to a certain point I believe in destiny and having somewhat of a preset plan for my life that is just part of the greater universe. Perhaps meeting that Lebanese international student in college was part of my destiny but choosing to be with him and becoming his wife (with all what that implied) was definitely a choice that changed all my future plans as an individual completely. Did I change my “greater plan” by making that choice then?

I think that every single one of us end up defying “the greater plan” at some point in our lives. If I wouldn’t have chosen love over everything else in my life, I would probably be living in Mexico right now. Who knows if I’d be married and much less have children. Would I had been happy without having the unconditional love that I found in my Lebanese college student? Or would I have found myself longing for his love?

If my greater plan was to be a successful career woman (like the movie in this case presented), then I definitely messed it all up by falling madly in love and jumping into a life of shared goals and dreams where always one or the other ends up putting what he or she always wanted to achieve on hold. But you know what? I’m happy this way.

I’m happy that I am impulsive and decided to leave the comfort of the life I had known for one of assimilation and learning in a foreign country with my foreign man. I’m happy that after the many difficulties we had to go through, we finally had our first baby and now we are having the second one. I’m happy that even though, I am not the professional, career-oriented woman with sophisticated work clothes that I always saw myself as, I have a little family that keeps my heart very full. I’m happy that at the end of the day I am a mom, a wife and a best friend to the only person in the world that I can see putting my personal plans on hold for.

I’m happy to have chosen love.

 

2 Responses to “The Adjustment Bureau”

  1. iriz Says:

    NO LO PUEDO CREER CON ESTE POST !!! es la 1era vez que leo algo que automaticamente me hace identificarme en muchos aspectos y que me pone un nudo en la garganta.. y la piel de gallina….
    te la aventaste monumental con esa frase de : x la unica persona por la que detendria mis planes….
    love you!

    • ForeignMom Says:

      ¡Ay Iris! es que así es cuando encuentras al amor de tu vida, quererlo y tenerlo tiene un precio. El mío es el de vivir aquí sin estar aún realizada profesionalmente y medio aislada de mi pasado. Pero ¿Sabes qué? Estar casada con la persona a la que le puedo entregar todo y ser más que correspondida lo vale todo.


Leave a Reply

