My Social Life Depends On A Teenager

I don’t even have adolescents living under my roof and my social life already depends on a 17-year-old, yes, my babysitter. I know I should have looked for a backup months ago when my other sitter went off to college, but my current sitter was always so available that I guess I never expected her to get a social life of her own.

She’s been so busy lately that my husband and I have spent the last couple of weekends playing Wii and watching movies instead of going out for dinner or just have some “us” time without our little munchkin. It is in moments like this that I REALLY miss having family around. Oh how easy would it be to call my mother to come watch the baby!

I really shouldn’t complain about it that much because there are a couple of friends who keep offering to watch the baby for us but both my husband and I feel that we should keep those offers for an emergency. After all, they too have social lives.

It is very interesting that I took my calendar out to plan a date way in advance but my sitter is so booked these days that I even had to plan way ahead to get her to come on a Sunday. At this point, I don’t even care if we don’t get to go out on a Friday or Saturday night, we just want to have some couple time (any time).

Leave a Reply

