Married Woman Going on a Blind Date

One of the most difficult things of living in a foreign country is making friends. One never knows where to look and is always afraid of appearing too desperate. But after the 6 weeks that my mother spent with me following the birth of my baby, I found myself so lost and lonely that I decided to turn to the Internet for help.

Browsing around, I found a page called momslikeme.com and after reading a few entries, decided to post some kind of personal message there: “Mom of a 6-week-old looking for other moms to hang out”. The first few days, I checked the site obsessively hoping for a reply, but after a week of no bites, I decided that maybe fishing for cyber-friendships wasn’t for me.

I don’t remember how many weeks later, I got an email in my inbox saying that someone had replied to my post. You cannot imagine my excitement. It is kind of funny but I think that people who are looking for romance online feel the same way the first time someone responds to their posts.

By the end of the month, a total of 3 moms had responded to my personal message and by now, I have been in touch with at least one of them in a more regular basis. After the first few exchanges, we decided that maybe it was time to meet in person. I don’t know what was going through her mind, but I was thinking that perhaps, meeting in a public place would be the most convenient just in case the chemistry was not there. I have been also thinking how am I going to recognize her. We both have been a little cautious about leaking too much information on the web and well, let’s be honest, it would have been weird to exchange pictures -it already feels too much like online dating.

After a couple of problems with getting a date scheduled, we decided to meet this morning. But as I was getting ready to leave the house, I went online one more time just to make sure that things were still as planned. Unluckily, she had an unexpected situation to take care of this morning and had to reschedule.

To be honest with you, I’m bummed. I just became the married woman who got stood up by her blind date! We’ll see how things turn out from here.

Leave a Reply

